January is School Board Recognition Month, and the Roaring Fork Schools want to thank our board members for their commitment and contributions to our schools.

Our board members volunteer countless hours to make public education the best it can be in our district. Our board develops policies and makes tough decisions on complex educational and social issues that affect our entire school community--tackling everything from calendar schedules to anti-discrimination policies to extracurricular activities. They bear responsibility and oversight for an annual general budget of $67 million; over 5600 students in 13 schools; and 1300 employees in the Roaring Fork Schools.

Board President Jen Rupert lives in Old Snowmass and has one child at Basalt Elementary. As a board member, Jen enjoys the opportunity to both give and receive. This role has allowed Jennifer the opportunity to grow in understanding, compassion, and so much more.

Board Vice President Shane Larson lives in Glenwood Springs and has three children who attend Glenwood Springs Elementary and Middle Schools. As a newer board member, Shane enjoys learning about the schools and how the district operates.

Board Secretary/Treasurer Mary Elizabeth Geiger lives in Glenwood Springs and has two children at Sopris Elementary and Glenwood Springs Middle. As a board member, Mary Elizabeth enjoys seeing what an amazing difference our schools make in kids' lives and being part of that process.

Matt Hamilton lives in Carbondale and has two children at Carbondale Middle and at Glenwood Springs Elementary. As a board member, Matt enjoys working to ensure our schools meet the needs of all families in the district.

Jennifer Scherer lives in the Basalt area and has two children at Basalt Middle. As our newest board member, Jen enjoys learning the big picture of education and being part of a team working to ensure we prepare our children for the future in the best way possible.

Help us thank our board members for the time, talent, and passion they donate for the betterment of our schools.


The Roaring Fork Schools Executive Team

Go to top